GuysRead!

0

Two orphaned brothers, Prosper and Bo, have run away to Venice, where crumbling canals and misty alleyways shelter a secret community of street urchins. Leader of this motley crew of lost children is a clever, charming boy with a dark history of his own: He calls himself the Thief Lord.

Propser and Bo relish their new “family” and life of petty crime. But their cruel aunt and a bumbling detective are on their trail. And posing an even greater threat to the boys’ freedom is something from a forgotten past: a beautiful magical treasure with the power to spin time itself.

Posted by: Moore-Nokes
on November 15, 2009
Under - GuysRead!
0

Three curious kids discover a world of brownies, fairies, and other fantastic creatures in this ultra-enchanting launch to Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black’s Spiderwick Chronicles.

When the three Grace children — Mallory, Jared, and Simon — and their mom move into Aunt Lucinda’s old house, readers know there’s magic afoot. The kids uncover a nest of assembled junk, and on a visit to the secret library via the dumbwaiter, Jared finds a note describing “my secret to all mankind.” After a few mysterious pranks that get blamed on Jared, the boy finally digs up the real prize: Arthur Spiderwick’s Field Guide to the Fantastical World Around You. Fortunately enough, the kids meet one of the critters listed in the guide — a brownie named Thimbletack — who makes it all “real” and helps provide the book’s suspenseful conclusion: “‘Throw the book away, toss it in a fire. If you do not heed, you will draw their ire.’”

From the book’s bewitching cover to the Grace kids’ letter to the authors, Book 1: The Field Guide is a fast-paced beginning to an exciting new series. Fans of Harry Potter, Lemony Snicket, or Diana Wynne Jones will be hooked on Spiderwick, and they’ll thirst for more. DiTerlizzi and Black have done it right. Matt Warner The Barnes & Noble Review

Posted by: Moore-Nokes
on November 08, 2009
Under - GuysRead!
0

Eleven-year-old Elijah lives in Buxton, Canada, a settlement of runaway slaves near the American border. He’s the first child in town to be born free, and he ought to be famous just for that. Unfortunately, all that most people see is a “fra-gile” boy who’s scared of snakes and talks too much. But everything changes when a former slave steals money from Elijah’s friend, who has been saving to buy his family out of captivity in the South. Now it’s up to Elijah to track down the thief–and his dangerous journey just might make a hero out of him, if only he can find the courage to get back home.

Posted by: Moore-Nokes
on October 24, 2009
Under - GuysRead!
0

The city of Ember was built as a last refuge for the human race. Two hundred years later, the great lamps that light the city are beginning to flicker. When Lina finds part of an ancient message, she’s sure it holds a secret that will save the city. She and her friend Doon must decipher the message before the lights go out on Ember forever! This stunning debut novel offers refreshingly clear writing and fascinating, original characters.

Posted by: Moore-Nokes
on October 17, 2009
Under - GuysRead!
0

When Griffin Bing’s class goes to a floating zoo, they don’t expect to see animals being treated so badly. They don’t expect to find Cleo, Dog Whisperer Savannah’s pet monkey who’s been missing for weeks. And they really don’t expect to have to hide the animals once they’ve rescued them! Hilarity ensues as Griffin’s team once more pulls off a heist…trying to break the animals back into a (better) zoo!

No animals were harmed in the making of Gordon Korman’s funny, crowd-pleasing next middle grade novel.

Posted by: Moore-Nokes
on October 12, 2009
Under - GuysRead!

Pages

Subscribe to GuysRead!