The Edge Chronicles by Paul Stewart

This is my next book guys.  Has anyone read this yet.  Feel free to give me things to look for, or just tell me what you think.

Book 1: Beyond the Deepwoods Young Twig lives in the Deepwoods, among the Woodtrolls, but he isn’t one of them. In a brave attempt to find out where he belongs, Twig wanders into the mysterious, dangerous world beyond the Deepwoods. He meets a collection of odd companions, such as his wise guardian, the Caterbird; the Slaughterers, a peaceful race who
butcher animals for their livelihood; and the vicious, bile-swilling Rotsucker. Always watching out for the horrible Gloamglozer, whose presence haunts the thoughts of all the inhabitants of The Edge, Twig steadfastly pursues his quest until he discovers his roots, not among the trees, but in the skies. . . .

Book 2 Stormchaser
Book 3 Midnight Over Sanctaphrax
Book 4 The Curse of the Gloamglozer
Book 5 The Last of the Sky Pirates
Book 6 Vox
Book 7 Freeglader
Book 8 Winter Knights
Book 9 Clash of the Sky Galleons